2022 Speaker Bios


Lynne Vincent holds an M.S. and Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior from Cornell University, School of Industrial and Labor Relations. She currently is an associate professor at the Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University. Before joining Syracuse University, she was a postdoc at the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University. Her research focuses on the moral and social implications of creativity for individuals, groups, and organizations. She teaches undergraduate courses on management and organizational behavior at Syracuse University.


Darrell Schlom is the Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor of Industrial Chemistry in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell University. After receiving a B.S. degree from Caltech, he did graduate work at Stanford University receiving an M.S. in Electrical Engineering and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering. He was then a post-doc at IBM's research lab in Zurich, Switzerland in the oxide superconductors and novel materials group managed by Nobel Prize winners J. Georg Bednorz and K. Alex Müller. In 1992 he joined the faculty at Penn State in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, where he spent 16 years before joining the faculty at Cornell in 2008. His research interests involve the heteroepitaxial growth and characterization of oxide thin films by reactive molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE), especially utilizing a 'materials-by-design' approach to the discovery of materials with properties superior to any known. His group synthesizes these oxide heterostructures using molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE). He has published over 650 papers and 10 patents resulting in an h-index of 91 and over 42,000 citations.  His work on materials synthesis enabling materials discovery has been recognized by the MRS Medal from the Materials Research Society, the Frank Prize from the International Organization for Crystal Growth, the McGroddy Prize from the American Physical Society, and the John A. Thornton Memorial Award/Lecture from the American Vacuum Society.  He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the American Vacuum Society, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.


Joseph Falson is an Assistant Professor of Materials Science and  William H. Hurt Scholar at the California Institute of Technology. His research focuses on the synthesis and characterization of quantum materials that display emergent functionalities. The group specializes in the thin-film growth of high quality crystals with a focus on oxides, and explores their physical properties in extreme environments, including at low temperature and high magnetic field. He completed his PhD in the group  of Prof. Masashi Kawasaki at the University of Tokyo and was a researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research working with Klaus von Klitzing before joining Caltech.  Falson was also named as a 2021 Fellow in Materials Synthesis by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. This  grant will enable him to pursue methods for growing highly pure crystals of new materials. He plans to build a custom piece of equipment with an ultra-high vacuum chamber corrosive materials that also offers access to the materials so that sensitive experiments may be conducted on them.


Kyle Shen is the James A. Weeks Professor of Physical Sciences and Director of the Laboratory of Atomic & Solid State Physics at Cornell University. He received B.Sc. degrees in Physics and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from M.I.T., and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Applied Physics from Stanford University. His research interests lie in the area of the synthesis and investigation of novel quantum materials. In particular, his research focuses on creating and controlling emergent phenomena at artificial interfaces and superlattices, interfacial and high-Tc superconductivity, utilizing techniques such as angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy (ARPES), molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), x-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS), and resonant x-ray scattering (RXS). His honors include the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award, the Research Corporation Cottrell Scholars Award, an NSF CAREER Award, an National Academy of Sciences Kavli Frontiers Fellow, the NSERC Howard Alper Prize, an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship, and a Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship.


Brendan Faeth is a research associate at the PARADIM Thin Film Laboratory at Cornell University.  After receiving a B.S. degree in Physics and Astronomy at the University of Florida, he performed graduate research at Cornell University in the group of professor Kyle Shen, earning an M.S. and Ph.D. in Physics before joining PARADIM in 2020.  His research combines advanced synthesis and characterization techniques such as molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE), angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy (ARPES), and in situ electrical transport to study the emergent electronic properties of novel quantum interface materials and artificial heterostructures.